Natchitoches Times Logo
Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Eight Lady Demons make anniversary team
Jun 01, 2013 | 315 views | 0 0 comments | 6 6 recommendations | email to a friend | print
As the Southland Conference celebrates its 50th anniversary in 2013, the league announced its all-time softball roster consisting of over 80 student-athletes that starred on the diamond, including eight Lady Demons of Northwestern State.

Those who received first-team all-conference selections, individual honors, season and career statistics, and postseason success and individuals who received four-time all-conference selections were honored.

Shortstop Sonja Olsen (1988-91) was the only Lady Demon to earn all-conference selections in all four years. Olsen also earned 1990 doubles champion and was a member of the 1991 regular season championship team.

Other All-Time roster members consisted of outfielders Lindsey Danzy (2001-04), Amy Grisham (1990-93), Annie Johnston (2001-02), designated player Brandy Kenney (1997-00), second basemen Nicole Martin (2002-05) and Jana Strickland (1999-02) and catcher Rhonda Rube (1989-92).

Danzy garners First-Team All-Southland honors from 2003 and 2004 as Grisham draws the same honors from 1991 and 1992.

Johnston picked up First-Team selections in 2001 and 2002 and was named Newcomer of the Year in 2001, Hitter of the Year, Player of the Year and batting average champion in 2002, triples champion, stolen bases champion and All-Tournament team in both 2001 and 2002. Johnston was also a member of the 2002 tournament championship team.

Kenney holds the Southland’s career doubles record (62) while earning First-Team honors in 1998 and 1999. She was named 1998 Hitter of the Year and garners All-Tournament selections from 1997, 1999 and 2000.

Martin was a member of the 2002 tournament championship team after being named runs scored leader, hits leader and Freshman of the Year. She was named First-Team All-Southland from 2003-05.

Strickland earned all-tournament team honors from 1999-02 as the Lady Demons picked up two of the program’s four tournament championships and one regular season title.

Rube boasts First-Team All-Southland honors from 1989-90-91, Player of the Year in 1989 and 1991, 1989 Newcomer of the Year and was a member of the 1991 regular season championship team.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of Natchitoches Times.