Natchitoches Times Logo
Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
NSU names members to Purple Jackets and Blue Key; membership based on service, scholarship, achievement, leadership
Aug 31, 2013 | 393 views | 0 0 comments | 4 4 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Two of the most prestigious service organizations at Northwestern State University, Purple Jackets and Blue Key, have selected new members for the 2013-14 academic year.

New members of Purple Jackets are Jessica Viator of Prairieville, Danielle Harding of St. Catherine’s Ontario, Canada, Cassidy Browning of Albuquerque, N.M., Victoria Kwentua of Greenwell Springs, Megan Duhon of Jennings, Tori Thompson of Humble, Texas, Alexandria Rios of Fort Worth, Texas, Alexis Reliford of Natchitoches, Anna Gasperecz of Baton Rouge and Kierra Hayes of Denham Springs.

 Also selected were Kayla Jacob of Lake Charles, Molly Watson of Prairieville, Memrie Gibbons of New Boston, Texas, Jacqelin Strug of Plano, Texas, Destiny LaRue of Red Oak, Texas, Brittany McConathy of Pineville, Alayni Guidry of Duson, Jacinta Chaffold of Shreveport, Morgan Dailey of Springfield and Ashley Perkins of Boyce.

New members of Blue Key are Blake Babin of Natchitoches, Zachary Ebarb of Converse, Emily Frame of Kenner, Guidry, Hayes, Jacob and Mandy Knight of New Llano.

Also selected to Blue Key were LaRue, McConathy, Rio, Matthew Spence of Houma, Christopher Taylor of Ruston, Viator and Keandra Williams of Carencro.

The Purple Jacket Club is one of the university’s oldest honorary service organizations. Membership is limited to 35 students who are selected based on scholarship, outstanding achievement, exceptional leadership and high ideals.

The Purple Jacket Club was founded by V.L. Roy, the president of Louisiana State Normal School (now Northwestern State), in 1927 as a service club for women. Members volunteer to work at events including career and professional Days, conferences and commencement. They also assist guests in the President’s Box at home football games.

Members must have at least a 3.0 GPA by their junior year.  In addition, each member must be in two other campus-affiliated organizations and be an officer in at least one organization.

Blue Key was established in 1924 at the University of Florida as an honorary service organization. Northwestern State’s chapter was founded in 1959 by the late Dean of Students Dudley G. Fulton and Dean of Men Leonard O. Nichols.

The chapter is limited to 35 members. Selection is based on character, academic achievement, participation and leadership in campus organizations and a record of service to the university and the community.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of Natchitoches Times.