PetStar initiates scholarship for NSU vet tech students


NATCHITOCHES –  PetStar in Natchitoches has initiated a work study award for a Northwestern State University student majoring in veterinary technology.  The position will be awarded during the student’s last semester of study.  Recipients must be a Louisiana resident and have a 3.0 or better grade point average. The student must work 480 hours toward an internship during the semester and volunteer 10 hours per semester with the Natchitoches Humane Society, Happy Tails or Hope for Paws.


PetStar owners Dr. Trey and Jessica Underwood sought to develop a relationship with NSU’s Vet Tech program, with internships and scholarships to benefit students with a passion for caring for animals. With locations in Natchitoches (820 Kyser Ave.) and Ruston (2005 Farmerville Hwy.), PetStar services include pet wellness, diagnostics, surgery, dental care and boarding with customizable pet health plans available.


Dr. Trey Underwood was born and raised in Bossier City and received his bachelor’s degree in animal science from Louisiana Tech University in 2000. He earned a Doctorate of Veterinary Medicine from Louisiana State University in 2004.  His veterinary career began in Ruston as an associate at All Creatures Animal Hospital. He purchased the practice in October 2006 and launched the PetStar concept. In August of 2012, he brought that concept to Natchitoches. Dr. Underwood has a mission to bring quality veterinary care to North Central Louisiana and treats his patients’ pets if they were his own.


NSU’s associate degree in veterinary technology is one of only two in Louisiana and provides students with requirements necessary to sit for the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE) whereupon successful completers of the VTNE can register with the State Board of Veterinary Medicine and will be credentialed as a Registered Veterinary Technician.


For information on PetStar in Natchitoches and/or Ruston, visit or  For information on NSU’s Veterinary Technology program, visit

On the front row from left are Kelly Romine, Savannah Chop, Amanda Beaudoin, Brittaney Bennett, NSU President Dr. Chris Maggio, Dr. Trey and Jessica Underwood, Hannah LaCaze and NSU Development Officer Jill Bankston. On the back row are Madison Lange, Teia Jones, Sharon Durr and Dr. Doug Landry.