22 NSU students benefit from Morgan Scholarships


NATCHITOCHES – Twenty-two Northwestern State University students were named recipients of inaugural Morgan First Generation Scholarships made possible by NSU alumni David and Sherry Morgan.  Seventeen additional students were named recipients of the David and Sherry Morgan Extra Mile Scholarships.  The Morgans established the scholarships to assist members of Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity and Sigma Sigma Sigma Sorority.


Students were recognized at the second annual Morgan Extra Mile Scholarship Banquet Thursday where Mark Timmes, chief executive officer of Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity, provided the keynote address.  Ann Rutkowski, executive council member and national treasurer of Sigma Sigma Sigma Sorority, attended from Erie, Pennsylvania.  More than 230 chapter members, parents, alumni and guests attended the banquet. Kenedy Lampert of Deville and Char’Tarian Wilson of Shreveport were banquet co-chairs.


First Generation Scholarship recipients are the first in their immediate families to attend college.  Recipients are Mia Adams of Bourg, Katelyn Baronne of Cheneyville, Blake Blanchard of St. Martinville, KayCee Collinsworth of Castor, Bethanie Couch of Haughton, Kaylee Couch of Haughton, Michael Dailey of West Monroe, Kylie Descant of Frierson, Logan Esthay of Welsh, Jacob Guidry of Jennings, Kelsi Horn of Many, McKenzie Kuhlow of Anacoco, Zachary Linville of Sunset, Joseph Magnan of Burleson, Texas; Emily Miller of Grand Cane, Jordan Mitchell of Jena, Emily Odom of Pitkin, Bailey Patton of Ruston, Chloee Solomon of Pineville, Tyler Thomas of Jena, Madysen Watts of Natchitoches and Char’Tarian Wilson of Shreveport.


David Morgan, a 1973 NSU graduate and alumnus of NSU’s Beta Omicron Chapter of Pi Kappa Phi, established the Extra Mile Scholarship in 2008 to recognize members who distinguish themselves through academic success, chapter leadership, campus involvement and part-time employment.


Pi Kappa Phi members named as this year’s recipients of the David D. Morgan Extra Mile Scholarship are Noah Baudoin of Shreveport, Michael Dailey of West Monroe, Christian Frost of Metairie, Jacob Guidry of Jennings, David Johnson of Denham Springs, Dedrick Lewis of Natchitoches, Thomas Marlbrough of Mandeville and Char’Tarian Wilson of Shreveport.


The Sherry F.  Morgan Extra Mile Scholarship was established in 2017 to honor NSU and Alpha Zeta Chapter Alumna Sherry Morgan and to recognize Tri Sigma members who best exemplify the ideals of scholarship, service and character.


This year’s recipients are Rebekah Aultman of Mangham, Emily Benoit of Jennings, Hannah Gaspard of Pineville, Morgan Horn of Brookeland, Texas, Kenedy Lampert of Deville, Emilee Leger of Lafayette, Mallory McConathy of Stonewall, Abigail Reynolds of Minden and Madysen Watts of Natchitoches.


David and Sherry Morgan have a long history of supporting NSU student scholarships and initiatives and created The Extra Mile Scholarships to recognize students who are committed to going the “Extra Mile” to achieve success, according to Mr. and Mrs. Morgan.  Qualifying members participate in an application process that is reviewed by chapter alumni before selections are made.


Last year, the Morgans’ contribution to the NSU Foundation created the First Generation Scholarships with one of the largest individual one-time gifts to the Foundation. The gifts, and other like them, offset the decline in state funding to higher education over the past decade and often make the difference in whether a student can stay in school and complete their degree, said Drake Owens, executive director of the NSU Foundation.

NSU alumni David and Sherry Morgan presented First Generation Scholarships to members of Pi Kappa Phi and Sigma Sigma Sigma during a March 8 banquet at NSU. On the front row from left are David Morgan, Jordan Mitchell, Logan Esthay, Katelyn Baronne, Bethanie Couch, McKenzie Kuhlow, Chloee Solomon, Emily Odom, Madysen Watts, Kaylee Couch, Mia Adams and Sherry Morgan. On the back row are Zachary Linville, Tyler Thomas, Char’tarian Wilson, Michael Dailey, Jacob Guidry, Joseph Magnan, Kelsi Horn, KayCee Collinsworth, Kylie Descant Bailey Patton, Blake Blanchard and Emily Miller. These students are the first in their immediate families to pursue college degrees.
David and Sherry Morgan recognized this year’s Extra Mile Scholarship recipients presented to members of Pi Kappa Phi and Sigma Sigma Sigma during the second annual Extra Mile Banquet. On the front row from left are Kenedy Lampert, Mallory McConathy, Hannah Gaspard, Emily Benoit, Emilee Leger, David and Sherry Morgan, Abigail Reynolds, Madysen Watts, Rebekah Aultman and Christian Frost. On back row are Thomas Marlbrough, Michael Dailey, Noah Baudoin, David, Jacob Guidry, Char’Tarian Wilson, Dedrick Lewis and Morgan Horn.