NSU Math Dept. competes at conference

Northwestern State University’s Department of Mathematics attended the annual meeting of the Louisiana/Mississippi Section of the Mathematical Association of America in Lafayette. During the meeting, several students competed in a team competition and Haley Jorgensen of Bossier City entered the student research competition, winning the third place prize. The meeting marked the end of Dr. Frank Serio’s term as chair of the Section. Pictured are students and faculty, from left, Jonathon Villareal of Oberlin, of Austin Averitt of Bossier City, Dr. Leigh Ann Myers, Sara Vineyard of Shreveport, Shelby Ansley of Bossier City, Andrew Penfield of Many, Cherish Netter of Baker, Dr. Richard DeVault, Serio, head of the Department of Mathematics; Jessica Bass of Pleasant Hill, Jorgensen, Dr. Kathy Autrey, Dr. Nick Richardson, Melissa Kelly and Dr. Ben Rushing.