NSU hosts 31st annual Research Day


NATCHITOCHES –  Northwestern State University hosted it’s 31st annual Research Day Thursday, an event that included a day of concurrent oral presentations, poster presentations, awards and a keynote address by Fulbright Scholar Dr. Patrice Moulton, a professor in NSU’s Department of Psychology.


Dr. Dennette McDermott, professor of flute in the School of Creative and Performing Arts was named this year’s winner of the Dr. Mildred Hart Bailey Faculty Research Award.  Her research topic is “Something Lost and Something Gained:  A Look into Historical Performance Practice of the 18th century.”  The Bailey award is made for outstanding research or distinguished artistic performance and/or creative work substantially completed during the past three years.


Dr. James MacDonald, a professor of history in Department of Criminal Justice, History and Social Sciences, was named recipient of the Dr. Marietta LeBreton Louisiana Studies Award.


The LeBreton award honors faculty whose research careers have been dedicated to research regarding Louisiana topics.  Nominees must demonstrate a sustained record of research on Louisiana topics or projects that illustrate a significant connection to Louisiana.  MacDonald was recognized for research on the historic local figure John Sibley, a surgeon and Indian Agent, who moved to Natchitoches after the Louisiana Purchase.


Students Christina Arrechavala , a liberal arts major in the Louisiana Scholars’ College from Kenner, and Haley Jett, a biology major from Anacoco, were winners of the Phi Kappa Phi Student Research Awards, which recognize outstanding research, distinguished artistic performance or creative work completed by a student or team of students while enrolled at NSU.  Students in all disciplines are eligible


Arrechavala’s research topic is “Computational Docking of Teixobactin to Lipid II – a Novel Antibiotic Mechanism that Avoids Antibiotic Resistance.”  Her faculty sponsor is Dr. Massimo Bezoari, professor of chemistry.


Jett’s research topic is “Survey of Dirofilaria immitis Prevalence and Resistance to Preventive Medications in Natchitoches.”  Her faculty sponsor is Dr. Cynthia Doffitt, professor of biology.


Isabella Jones of Saline was winner of the Student Design Award, presented to student who created the winning design for the Research Day program cover and poster.  Jones is majoring in Fine + Graphic Art with a concentration in graphic communications.


Moulton’s keynote, “A Developing Field in a Developing Country” provided insight into her experience as a Fulbright Scholar in which she was selected to serve as a consultant and ambassador to Nepal to launch the country’s first degree program in counseling psychology.

NSU presented several awards during Research Day April 12, capping off a day of research presentations and poster session on topics that span the academic disciplines. Recognized were, from left, undergraduates Haley Jett and Christina Arrechavala, winners of the Student Research Awards; Dr. James MacDonald, winner of the Dr. Marietta LeBreton Louisiana Studies Award; Isabella Jones, winner of the Student Design Award, and Dr. Margaret Cochran, chair of the NSU Research Committee and event coordinator. Not shown is Dr. Dennette McDermott, winner of the Dr. Mildred Hart Bailey Faculty Research Award.