Athletes recognized at second annual awards ceremony


By Marco Clark, exclusive to the Times

The Natchitoches Leadership Through Athletics Committee (NLTA) hosted their second annual awards ceremony Saturday, May 19 at the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame. Ralph Wilson presided. The NLTA honors seniors from Natchitoches Parish High Schools. The invocation was led by the Rev. Brad Holden the Pledge of Allegiance was led by John Waskom. Greetings and welcome were by museum director Jeannae Biddiscome and committee member Bobby Benjamin. The dedication of awards was by committee members Tan’Keia Palmer and Bobby Benjamin. Keynote speaker was Robert L. Bailey, current receivers coach at Prairie View A&M University. Coach Bailey delivered a speech of encouragement titled “The Process.”

During Bailey’s speech, he emphasized five key elements of the process; commitment, discipline, effort, toughness and pride. With these five elements in place, any individual can and will be successful.

The honorees on the night representing Lakeview were Tyler Sullivan, baseball; Shunderika Browder, basketball; and Shelby Savell, softball. Representing Natchitoches Central were Haydon Helms, baseball; Jolie Williams-basketball; Josh Fortenberry, football; Derilyn Flanagan, powerlifting; Lastaria Smith, powerlifting; Dylan Price, soccer; Desmond Vaughn, track and field; Vincent Ferreyros, tennis; and Trinity Sowell, track and field. Representing St. Mary’s was Jared Elie, basketball.

These young men and women will also coach the All-Star kids camp hosted by the Louisiana Sports Museum this summer.