Madysen Watts named Trow scholarship recipient


NATCHITOCHES – Northwestern State University student Madysen Watts, a business administration major from Saline, has been named recipient of a Jo Anne J. Trow Scholarship in the amount of $1,000 presented by Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society for First-Year Success.


Each year, Alpha Lambda Delta awards 36 Trow scholarships to outstanding students from across the country.  Selections are based on a 3.5 grade point average, academic records, participation in Alpha Lambda Delta activities, campus and community activities and the applicant’s essay answers.  The national selection committee was faced with a difficult task as there were 78 applicants who qualified.


The Jo Anne Trow Scholarship was started in 1988 in honor of a past national president of Alpha Lambda Delta.  Trow is the former vice president for Student Services at Oregon State University.  The award was originally established to give chapters of Alpha Lambda Delta an annual opportunity to reward an outstanding sophomore member with a stipend.  The scholarships currently offer five $6,000 awards, five $3,000 awards, five $2,000 awards and 21 $1,000 awards.  Trow served National Alpha Alpha Lambda Delta as a district advisor from 1974-79, as national secretary from 1979-1983, as president-elect from 1984-1985 and as national president from 1985-1988.  During her presidency, the Society’s governing body, the National Council, was restructured to provide more streamlined operations.


Dr. Sharon Emerson-Stonnell, national president of Alpha Lambda Delta, notified NSU chapter advisor Reatha Cox of the award and provided a certificate for Watts.


Alpha Lambda Delta is a national honor society that recognizes students’ academic success during their first year at a college or university. Founded in 1924, Alpha Lambda Delta has more than 1 million lifetime members and is present on over 275 campuses nationwide. Alpha Lambda Delta’s mission is to “encourage superior academic achievement, to promote intelligent living and a continued high standard of learning and to assist students in recognizing and developing meaningful goals for their unique roles in society.”

Madysen Watts of Saline, center, a business administration major at Northwestern State University, was named recipient of the Jo Ann J. Trow Scholarship presented by Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society for First-Year Students. Offering congratulations were NSU President Dr. Chris Maggio and ALD Chapter Advisor Reatha Cox.