Northwestern State cheerleaders win eight awards at competition


Northwestern State University’s cheerleaders were big winners capturing eight awards at the Universal Cheerleaders Association’s recent regional competition at the University of Texas at Austin.

NSU won first place awards in fight song competition, game day competition and timeout competition and second in sideline competition. Northwestern State won the Traditions Award, Leadership Award and Program Improvement Award. NSU’s mascot, Vic The Demon, was named mascot camp champion.

Members of the cheerleading squad are Gavin Acor and Austin Averitt of Bossier City, Annalise Austin of Winnfield, Courtney Bergeron of Houma, Albert Hewitt, Joe Bradley and Alicia King of Shreveport, Jasmine Ealy of Little Elm, Texas, Selena Ferguson and Morgan VanBuren of Pineville, Terrence Green and Chloe Lambert of Prairieville, Tobias Jones and Colt Shankle of Haughton, Tre Jackson of Lafayette, Gabe Vargas of New Llano, Char’Tarian Wilson of Greenwood, Rylee Wyer of Natchitoches, Elise Vidrine of Napoleonville. The cheerleaders are coached by Amy Stepp, Chase Stepp, Christian Broussard and Kiley Bell.

Northwestern State University’s award-winning cheerleading squad includes, front from left, coach Christian Broussard, coach Amy Stepp, Courtney Bergeron, Rylee Wyer, Morgan VanBuren, Jasmine Ealy, Selena Ferguson, Elise Vidrine, Alicia King, Annalise Austin, Chloe Lambert, coach Kiley Bell and back from left, Albert Hewitt, Colt Shankle, Gabe Vargas, Tobias Jones, Gavin Acor, Tre Jackson, Austin Averitt, Char’Tarian Wilson, Terrence Green, Joe Bradley and coach Chase Stepp.