NSU honors faculty, staff during annual Faculty Institute

Northwestern State University recognized one faculty member from each college with Excellence in Teaching Awards, which demonstrate a commitment to students in and outside of the classroom. From left are Dr. Amy Garcie, College of Nursing and School of Allied Health; Dr. Marcia Hardy, College of Business and Technology; Dr. Jody Biscoe, College of Education and Human Development; John Byrd, College of Arts and Sciences, and Dr. William Housel, Louisiana Scholars’ College, with Van Erikson, director of First Year Experience and Leadership Development, who presented the awards during Monday’s annual Faculty Institute.
Dr. Rania Salman, center, assistant professor and coordinator of Child and Family Studies, was named recipient of the Faculty Excellence in Academic Advising Award during Northwestern State University’s annual Faculty Institute Monday. She was congratulated by Dr. Vickie Gentry, provost and vice president for Academic Affairs, and Steve Hicks, director of the Academic Advising Center.
Northwestern State University recognized employees with milestone awards to acknowledge faculty and staff with 25, 30 and 35 years of employment during Monday’s annual Faculty/Staff Lunch. On the front row from left are NSU President Dr. Chris Maggio, Galindo Rodriguez, Reatha Cox, Dr. Brenda Woodard, Mary Linn Wernet, Dr. Betsy Cochran, Doug Ireland and Betty Creamer. On the back row are Dr. Ken Green, Dr. Kathy Autry, Dr. Curt Phifer, Dr. Ben Rushing, Dorothy Jones, Perry Johnson, Pamela Dyess and Dr. Mary Reeves. Not shown are John Adams, Ricky Broadway, Dr. James Picht, Craig Stephens and the Rev. Henry Edwards.