NSU announces 2018-19 tenure, promotion list


Eight Northwestern State University faculty have received tenure and 13 have received promotion effective with the start of the 2018-19 academic year. according to Dr. Vickie Gentry, interim provost and vice president for academic affairs. The Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System approved the tenure and promotion recommendations.

Faculty receiving tenure are Brett Garfinkel of the Mrs. H.D. Dear Sr. and Alice E. Dear School of Creative and Performing Arts, Dr. Keicia Hawkins and Dr. Terry Poehl of the Gallaspy College of Education and Human Development, M’Lou Barnett, Kendall DeLacerda, Dr. Danita Potter and Kathleen Tate of the College of Nursing and School of Allied Health and Dr. Allison Rittmayer of the Department of English, Foreign Languages and Cultural Studies.

Those promoted from associate professor to professor were Dr. Francene Lemoine of the School of Biological and Physical Sciences, Potter and Dr. Tammy Curtis of the College of Nursing and School of Allied Health, Dr. Paul Forsyth and Jessica Parr of the School of Creative and Performing Arts and Dr. Alexei Muravitsky of the Louisiana Scholars College.

Faculty promoted from assistant professor to associate professor were Hawkins, Poehl, DeLacerda and Dr. Julie Gayle of the College of Nursing and School of Allied Health, Rittmayer, Garfinkel and Frank Hall of the Department of Criminal Justice, History and Social Science.