Local students among top five at LAMSA Math Competition

Thirteen middle schools from around the state participated in the 18th annual Middle School Math Competition Thursday, Nov. 15 hosted by the Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts (LSMSA). Students competed in individual and team competitions throughout the day.

Natchitoches Jr. High math team members are, on front row from left, Alexander DunnMiller, Donald Scott Jr., Nicholas Sutton and Cristy Evans. On back row are Dae’Shawn McVan, Kamron Edwards, Marquez Stevenson, teacher Jermaine Thomas, LaDerreca Williams, Bre’Auana Logan and Jalen Smith.
Teams consisted of no more than 12 students and included representatives from each of the schools’ best and brightest pupils. The tests did not follow a set curriculum. Instead, students were tested on their ability to draw from the math concepts they already knew. The tests covered algebra, geometry and other areas of mathematics.
The overall winner of the event was Caddo Middle Magnet. Subsequent winners were: Second place, Cope Middle School; Third place, Ruston Junior High; Fourth place, Sterlington Middle School; and Fifth place, Natchitoches Magnet.

On front row from left are Lilyasta Laning, Diamond Smith, Thadeuz Tibbs, Ethan Bumgardner, Huntar Goings, Noah Martinez and Erica O’Bannon. On back row are Joshua Chesal, Wyatt Laning, Isaac Young, Deserae Charles and Calder Deford. This team from Magnet won fifth place overall.
In the individual tests, top placing students were:
First, Andy Minagar of Caddo Middle Magnet
Second, Nhi Dao of Caddo Middle Magnet
Third, Cal Alexander of Caddo Middle Magnet
Fourth, Maeve Chmielews of St. John Berchman’s Catholic School
Fifth, Landry Pyles of Ruston Junior High

On front row from left are Noah Martinez, Erica O’Bannon and Ethan Bumgardner. On back row are teacher Zenda Sawyer, Joshua Chesal, Deserae Lewis and Isaac Young. This team took third place in the team competition.
In the team tests, the winners were:
First, Caddo Middle Magnet, Team A
Second, Cope Middle School, Team A
Third, Natchitoches Magnet School, Team A
Fourth, Natchitoches Jr. High School, Team A
Fifth, Caddo Middle Magnet, Team B

Natchitoches Jr. High earned a plaque at the LSMSA math competition. In front isDonald Scott Jr. On back row from left are Jalen Smith, Alexander DunnMiller, Cirsty Evans and LaDerreca Williams.
Other schools that participated in the event were Pitkin Junior High, Choudrant Junior High, Grace Christian School, Rusheon Middle School, D’Arbonne Woods Charter School and St. Mary’s Catholic School.