NSU Co-rec flag football team wins regional championship


HATTIESBURG, Mississippi – Northwestern State University’s CoRec flag football team won its second consecutive regional championship this past weekend in a tournament held at the University of Southern Mississippi.

NSU defeated Louisiana-Monroe 48-7 to win the title after beating Mississippi State and Southern Mississippi in the earlier rounds. Northwestern State will compete in the National Intramural and Recreational Sports Association National Championship on January 3-6 at the University of West Florida in Pensacola.

Members of the championship team were: Bobby Armstrong and Naterria Davis of Shreveport, Joshua Coleman, Zakeia Collins and Brittany Passi of Leesville, Gabrielle Savoy of Hessmer, Savonya Robinson of New Orleans, Meya Morse of Morgan City, Khalil Wilson of Jonesboro, Elisha Jenkins and Jeremiah Jenkins of Mansfield, Marco Richard of Lake Charles and Amber Griffin of Glenmora. Louis Mayweather of Mansfield is the team’s coach. Robinson, Collins and Wilson were named to the All-Tournament team with Robinson and Wilson being named most valuable players.

Members of Northwestern State University regional co-rec championship flag football team were at front, Bobby Armstrong, middle row, left to right, Zakeia Collins, Gabrielle Savoy, Naterria Davis, Savonya Robinson, Meya Morse, Brittany Passi, back row, Louis Mayweather (coach), Khalil Wilson, Joshua Coleman, Elisha Jenkins, Marco Richard, Amber Griffin and Jeremiah Jenkins.