Graduating teacher candidates recognized


NATCHITOCHES – Northwestern State University’s School of Education Portfolio Presentation Day was Monday, Dec. 3. The day began with the 32 resident and student teachers sharing highlights from their clinical experience and ended with a ceremony to honor their achievements.


Dr. April Giddens, assistant professor of Education and 2012 Louisiana Teacher of the Year, delivered a congratulatory address. William Brent and Bob Jordan presented Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP): Learning for Life awards to the candidates who participated in a year-long residency.


“These candidates will join the ranks of educators who are a part of Northwestern State’s rich teacher preparation legacy,” said Ramona A. Wynder, interim Director of Clinical Practice. “We are extremely proud of their accomplishments.”

Graduating teacher candidates in music education were recognized by faculty from both the School of Education and the School of Creative and Performing Arts. On the front row from left are Cameron Mayfield, Aaron Martin, Tristian Zamora, Derienne Copeland, Emily Ortiz, Kylah Banasky, Amanda Mustian and Dr. Sharon Joy. On the back row are Robdrick Halton, Billy Gorr, Eric Bourg, Dr. Bill Brent, Dr. Greg Handel, Dr. Mitch Davis and Jordan Whatley. Graduates from the College of Education and Human Development will be awarded degrees during 10 a.m. commencement Friday, Dec. 14.
Graduating teacher candidates were recognized and presented apple pins by faculty. The students will receive diplomas during 10 a.m. commencement Friday, Dec. 14. On the front row from left are Ramona Wynder, Madison Milligan, Sidney Salmans, Morgan, Woodall, Autumn Smith, Kaitlyn Arena, Amy Eckerle, Tatyanna Kinsey, LeKayla Smith and Ebone Burton. On the back row are Sterlin Foster, Benny Broadway, Maycy English, Kristan Valdez, Baley McAlexander, Suzanne Williams, Antavious Roberson, Kenedy Lampert, Clinton Oliver and Shayna Brown.