School board member installation is Monday


By Carolyn Roy,

Five new members are among the 11 school board members who will receive the oath of office from Clerk of Court David Stamey at the committee meeting Tuesday, Jan. 15 at 5 p.m. in the central office meeting room. The five new members are Tan’Keia Palmer District 2, Dorothy McGaskey District 3, Billy Benefield Jr. District 4, Reba Phelps District 6 and Beverly Broadway District 9. The other board members are Emile Metoyer, Steven Harris, Katrina Willis, Rhonda Guidroz, Russ Danzy and Eugean Garner. After the swearing in, the board will elect officers.

According to the agenda, the board will consider re-advertising for asbestos abatement and demolition of the old magnet school. The board will receive bids for playground equipment at Fairview Alpha and Goldonna schools. Supervisor of Finance Richard Foshee will give reports on the sales tax distribution and budget. T

he board will consider approving the activity fund audit for the last school year presented by CPA Roger Cunningham. The board will consider approving a one-time MFP appropriation of $583 for certified personnel and $250 for support staff.

The final financial item will be to consider the transfer of school district maintenance money from Cloutierville to Provencal. When the board closed the school at Cloutierville, over $400,000 remained in the maintenance fund. It can be distributed to other districts where those students attend school with a sufficient amount left in the fund to secure the building.

The board will consider approving a revised job description for a testing/evaluation coordinator after a report from Director of Personnel Linda Page.

Visitors wanting to speak on an agenda item must complete a form at the meeting and will be limited to speaking three minutes. The board will hold its regular meeting Thursday, Jan. 17 when voting will take place.