Local Garden Club celebrates 60 years at annual floral show

From left are members Chrissey Henry, Juanita Murphy, Sarah Katherine Ahrens, Kim Johnson, Sharon Gahagan, Sandra McCullen, Marian Keator, Sarah Luster, Gail Hines, Margaret Berry, Kay Foshee, Cynthia Brown, Rita Kaye Breedlove and Charlotte Cross. Photos by Hannah Richardson.

The St. Denis Garden Club hosted its 60th Anniversary Floral Show with guests Tuesday, March 19. The historical Cherokee Plantation housed members’ gorgeous floral arrangements, strategically placed in certain rooms throughout the main house. Several members worked on their arrangements the previous day at Jeanne’s County Gardens. Members arranged their bouquets while keeping their assigned rooms and placements in mind. The St. Denis Garden Club was founded in 1959 by Thelma Mitchell and its first president was Conna Cloutier. The current president is Sarah Luster. They meet monthly and enjoy listening to guest speakers, usually on the topic of gardening and floral arranging and going on trips.

Photos by Hannah Richardson

Motel 6

Photos below by Juanita Murphy