Phi Beta Delta inducts international scholars as new members


NATCHITOCHES – Dr. Francesco Tamburini, assistant professor of political science at the University of Pisa, Italy, was the keynote speaker during an induction ceremony for new members of Phi Beta Delta Honor Society for International Scholars April 14.


The members of Phi Beta Delta include faculty, staff and students who are selected on the basis of their international orientation, scholarship accomplishment and/or contribution to international exchange.


This year’s student inductees are Briana Lashley and Taylor Poleman, School of Business, and Colleen Reese, Louisiana Scholars’ College. New faculty members are Dr. Chris Gilson, Department of Criminal Justice, History and Social Sciences; Dr. Malena McLaren, Dr. Nicholaus Cummins, Sofiko Tchetchelashvili and Robyn Tan, Department of Music; Valerie Salter, Hospitality Management and Tourism; Dr. Richard St. Peter, Department of Theatre and Dance; Sr. Sarah Wright, School of Business, and Dr. Susan Thorson-Barnett, Department of Psychology.  Tamburini was also inducted as an honorary member.


Phi Beta Delta is the first honor society in the United States to recognize scholarship achievement in international education. It was established in 1987 and now has over 200 chapters at universities in the United States and around the world. Its goals are to increase the recognition, credibility, and importance of the international experience and create a catalyst for international academic-based programming on college campuses while providing support and recognition to those individuals on campuses who are involved in international endeavors.


The Northwestern State University Chapter of Phi Beta Delta received its charter in April 2010 with the induction of 25 faculty staff, and student members. This academic year Phi Beta Delta sponsored a Student Study Abroad Panel in November and held two no-host dinners for members and friends.


The Eta Mu Chapter at NSU is committed to supporting international students, domestic students who are interested in international travel and affairs, and faculty and staff who engage in international research and travel and is proud to announce the establishment of a scholarship for international and domestic students for the 2019-2020 academic year. Phi Beta Delta is interdisciplinary in nature and includes individuals from all content areas.

The Eta Mu Chapter of Phi Beta Delta Honor Society for International Scholars at Northwestern State University inducted new members April 14. From left are Dr. Chris Gilson, Dr. Susan Thorson-Barnett, Sofiko Tchetchelashvili, Valerie Salter, Taylor Poleman, Briana Lashley, Dr. Richard St. Peter, Dr. Nicholaus Cummins, Dr. Malena McLaren, Robyn Tan and keynote speaker Dr. Francesco Tamburini.