Napoleonville student earns Alpha Lambda Delta Scholarship


NATCHITOCHES – Dr. Sharon Emerson-Stonnell, National President of Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society for First-Year Success, announced that a Jo Anne J. Trow Scholarship in the amount of $3,000 has been awarded to Elizabeth Coleman of Napoleonville, a student at Northwestern State University. Coleman is a hospitality, management, and tourism major. The scholarship is for the 2019-20 academic year.


Each year, Alpha Lambda Delta awards 37 Trow scholarships to outstanding students from across the country. Selection is based on maintaining a 3.5 grade point average, academic records, participation in Alpha Lambda Delta activities, campus and community service activities, and the applicant’s essay answers. The national selection committee was faced with a difficult task as there were 74 applicants who qualified.


Coleman is treasurer of NSU’s Student Government Association, a member of Sigma Sigma Sigma Sorority and a member of Order of Omega.  She is a Morgan Extra Mile Scholar and Morgan First Generation Scholar.


The Jo Anne J. Trow Scholarship was started in 1988, in honor of a past National President of Alpha Lambda Delta. Jo Anne J. Trow is the former Vice President for Student Services at Oregon State University. This award was originally established to give chapters of Alpha Lambda Delta an annual opportunity to reward an outstanding sophomore member with a small stipend. The scholarships currently offer five $6,000 awards, ten $3,000 awards, seven $2,000 awards and fifteen $1,000 awards. Trow served National Alpha Lambda Delta as a District Advisor from 1974 to 1979, as National Secretary from 1979 to 1983, as President-elect from 1984 to 1985, and as National President from 1985 to 1988. During her presidency, the Society’s governing body, the National Council, was restructured to provide more streamlined operations.


Alpha Lambda Delta is a national honor society that recognizes students’ academic success during their first year at a college or university. Founded in 1924, Alpha Lambda Delta has over a million lifetime members and is present on over 280 campuses nationwide. Alpha Lambda Delta’s mission is to “encourage superior academic achievement, to promote intelligent living and a continued high standard of learning, and to assist students in recognizing and developing meaningful goals for their unique roles in society.”


For more information, contact Trish Maxwell at or (585) 364.0840.

Northwestern State University student leader Elizabeth Coleman, center, is a recipient of the Jo Anne J. Trow Scholarship awarded by Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society for First-Year Success. She was congratulated by NSU President Dr. Chris Maggio and Reatha Cox, director of Student Affairs.