Extra Yard for Teachers: NSU recognizes teachers, administrators


Northwestern State University’s College of Education and Human Development honored educators and administrators from throughout the region Sept. 28 part of Extra Yard for Teachers week.  From left are Dr. Kimberly McAlister, dean of college; Jason Rowland, assistant superintendent of administration and personnel in Bossier Parish;  Diane Atkins, chief human resource officer in Caddo Parish;  Clay Corley, superintendent in DeSoto Parish; Dale Skinner, superintendent in Natchitoches Parish;  Reneé Hester, talent pipeline leader in Red River Parish; Dr. Sara Ebarb, superintendent in Sabine Parish;  Renita Page, secondary curriculum director in Vernon Parish;  Dr. Steve Horton, executive director at the Louisiana School for Math, Science and the Arts;  Dr. Katrina Jordan, director of NSU’s School of Education;  Amber Bennett, 2020 Teacher of the Year for Walnut Hill Elementary/Middle School in Caddo Parish; Scarlett Walker, DeSoto Parish Middle School Teacher of the Year;  Paula Callender, state finalist for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics Teaching from Natchitoches Parish; Tené Leach, 2019 Sabine Parish Principal of the Year and semi-finalist for Louisiana State Principal of the Year, and Danelle Nash, semi-finalist for Louisiana Teacher of the Year from Vernon Parish.  They were congratulated by NSU President Dr. Chris Maggio.