Leases approved for additional trash bin sites


By Carolyn Roy,

During the Parish Council meeting Monday, Parish President John Richmond was authorized to sign leases with two owners who will allow trash bins to be placed on their property. Parish Council Chairman John Salter said it was the goal of Parish Government to have 60 sites. Salter and District 4 Council member Marty Cheatwood began the process to get the improved sites in January. The bins will be fenced and manned. The newest site will be at the RJ Expressmart at Chopin on La. Hwy. 490 just off Interstate 49. The bin will be moved there from Bay Springs Road.

The second bin will be in Gorum at the former school. The lease is between Gorum Community Center represented by its CEO, Justin Shilling. Already in place is a lease for a site at Goldonna where the bin was moved inside the village limits to a location that is much cleaner. The property owners will grant use of land to the Parish Government at no expense in exchange for Parish Government maintaining the road leading to the bins and providing sufficient lighting.

The bins are open weekdays 6:30-10 a.m., and 2:30-6 p.m.; Saturdays 7 a.m.-5 p.m.; Sundays 1-6 p.m.; closed July 4, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s.

In other business, the council passed four ordinances that were introduced at the June meeting.

They were:

•Removed 1,130 feet of Cloud Crossing Road from the Parish Road System.

•Amended the budget to create Fund 221 Payne Sewer LCDBG Project fund to process grant money.

•Declared Old Creston polling place building surplus after polling place was moved to a church building.

•Approved exception to I-A zoning to allow Cypress Baptist Church to establish a cemetery.

The council introduced an ordinance to change zoning to B-2 in Robeline for a Family Dollar store at 8894 and 8896 Texas St.

The council authorized the parish treasurer to seek proposals for Parish Government insurance rather than waiting until November.

The council confirmed the appointment of William Coatney to the Sewerage District No. 2 Board that will operate the Payne Subdivision sewer system.