NSU students earn Alpha Lambda Delta scholarships

Three Northwestern State University students were recipients of scholarships presented by Alpha Lambda Delta First-Year Honor Society. Pictured from left are NSU Director of Student Services Reatha Cox with scholarship recipients Jessica Mullican, Katelyn Kennedy and Sheridan Duet and NSU President Dr. Chris Maggio.

NATCHITOCHES – Northwestern State University students Jessica Mullican of De Ridder and Katelyn Kennedy of Baker been named recipients of Jo Anne J. Trow Scholarships awarded by Alpha Lambda Delta, the National Honor Society for First-Year Success.  Mullican received a scholarship in the amount of $3,000.  Kennedy received a scholarship in the amount of $1,000.  Both are for the 2020-21 academic year. Sheridan Duet of Thibodaux received a James. G. Stemler Scholarship in the amount of $1,000.

Mullican is a strategic communications major.  On campus and in the community, she is secretary of NSU’s Alpha Lambda Delta Chapter, a mentor in the President’s Leadership Program, a student coordinator in the First Year Experience Office and a Demon Volunteer.

Kennedy is a criminal justice major. On campus and in the community, she is president of NSU’s Alpha Lambda Delta chapter, an orientation leader, a lead Connector and a member of Purple Jackets Honor Society.

Duet is majoring in hospitality management and tourism with a concentration in travel and tourism. She is involved with Alpha Lambda Delta, Sigma Sigma Sigma Sorority, the President’s Leadership Program Alumni, Demon VIP and the Baptist Collegiate Ministry. Stemler Scholarships are targeted specifically to study abroad opportunities and Duet plans to use her scholarship to travel to Europe in May with the HMT department spending 2-1/2 weeks traveling in Ireland, Italy and Greece.

This year, Alpha Lambda Delta awarded 50 Trow scholarships to outstanding students from across the country. Selection is based on maintaining a 3.5 grade point average, academic records, participating in Alpha Lambda Delta activities, campus and community service activities and the applicant’s essay answers.

The Jo Anne J. Trow Scholarship was started in 1988 in honor of a past National President of Alpha Lambda Delta.  Trow is the former vice president for student services at Oregon State University and served National Alpha Lambda Delta as a district advisor, national secretary, president-elect and president.  During her presidency, the society’s governing body, the National Council, was restructured to provide more streamlined operations.

Alpha Lambda Delta is a national honor society that recognizes students’ academic success during their first year at a college or university.  Founded in 1924, ADL has over a million lifetime members and is present on over 280 campuses nationwide.  Alpha Lambda Delta’s mission is to encourage superior academic achievement, to promote intelligent living and a continued high standard of learning and to assist students in recognizing and development meaningful goals for their unique roles in society.