General — N-Club Hall of Fame induction ceremony moved to Oct. 23


The annual N-Club Hall of Fame induction ceremony has been postponed until this fall.


With the extension of the modified Phase Two order to help slow the spread of COVID-19, the Northwestern State Athletic Department has moved the ceremony to Oct. 23.


This marks the second COVID-related postponement for the induction, which originally was set for this past October before the novel coronavirus pandemic scuttled fall schedules for all NSU teams.


“We regret to have to postpone this event again, but we look forward to what hopefully will be a more vibrant, fan-filled weekend of festivities here at NSU,” Deputy Athletic Director Dr. Haley Taitano said.


The N-Club Hall of Fame Class of 2020 included All-Pro return specialist Terrence McGee, All-American defensive end Robert Daniel and school rushing king Tony Taylor from football, four-time All-American Stephanie Sowell, national javelin qualifier Regina Roe and cross-country standout Randy Moore from the track and field program, three-time national assist leader LaTerrica “Cooda” Dobin from women’s basketball, baseball outfielder Jordan Robison and two-sport standout Linette Stuart, a softball player who doubled as a conference javelin champion.


Baseball pitcher Bob Kairis, originally selected in 2019, also was to be inducted in 2020.


Terry Alario Sr. and Terry Alario Jr., the first father-son combination in NSU baseball history, were chosen as the N-Club’s Distinguished Service Award honorees while groundbreaking strength and conditioning coach Al Miller was named the first N-Club Pioneer Award winner.


The inductees are chosen by a combination of voting members of the N-Club, the association of former Northwestern State athletic letterwinners, and a committee comprising N-Club members and NSU administrators.