Qualifying concludes for March 20 election


Qualifying has ended for those throwing their hats in the ring for races on the March 20 ballot There will be three races in Natchitoches Parish Saturday, March 20.

Vying for the BESE Board Dist. 4 seat are Shelly McFarland -R, of Winnfield, Michael Melerine -R, of Shreveport, John Milkovich -Ind., of Shreveport, Emma Shepard -D, of Shreveport, Cody Whitaker -No Party, of Winnfield and Cassie Williams -D of Bossier City.

Only one person qualified for the Village of Clarence Chief of Police position, Curtis Emile Joseph Jr. -D.

Candidates for Village of Goldonna Chief of Police are Clint Coleman and Lawrence G. Sampey, both Republicans.

There were no qualifiers for the Village of Powhatan Chief of Police position.

Polls will open at 7 a.m and close at 8 p.m.

The deadline to register to vote in person or by mail is Feb. 17.

The deadline to register to vote through the GeauxVote Online Registration System is Feb. 27.

Early voting is March 6-13 (excluding Sunday, March 7) from 8:30 a.m.-6 p.m.

The deadline to request an absentee by mail ballot is March 16 by 4:30 p.m.

You can request an absentee by mail ballot online through our Voter Portal or in writing through your Registrar of Voters Office (other than military and overseas voters).

The deadline for a registrar of voters to receive a voted mail ballot is March 19 by 4:30 p.m. (other than military and overseas voters).

In print Jan. 28, 2021