NSU chapter of Phi Beta Delta to host lectures on Spanish and French culture


Northwestern State University’s chapter of Phi Beta Delta Honor Society for International Scholars will host the third group of lectures in its Language and Culture Lecture Series on Thursday March 4 and 11 at 5:30 p.m.

The lectures featuring Professor of Computer Information Systems Dr. Begoña Perez-Mira on March 4 and Assistant Professor of French and Spanish Dr. Benjamin Forkner on March 11 will be offered via Zoom. Participants will receive the zoom link upon registration. The registration fee is $5 per lecture for NSU, LSMSA and BPCC@NSU students and $20 per lecture for all other participants. All proceeds will support scholarships for NSU students participating in international studies.

Perez-Mira will speak about Spain and Spanish culture and Forkner will speak about France and French culture. Phi Beta Delta’s lecture series offers insights into world cultures and includes greetings, a taste of the language and information about the culture. Previous editions have introduced the cultures of China, India, and Latin America. Organizers hope these short classes will expand attendees’ knowledge and understanding of world cultures and will encourage interest in international study and travel.

Phi Beta Delta Honor Society for International Scholars has goals to increase the recognition, credibility and importance of the international experience and create a catalyst for international academic-based programing on college campuses while providing support and recognition to those individuals on campuses involved in international education. The Northwestern State chapter, Eta Mu, was established in 2010 and continues to sponsor campus-wide activities and scholarships on the NSU campus. The chapter was awarded the 2020 Eileen Evans outstanding Chapter Award last May at the organization’s annual conference.

To register online visit https://pbdspainandfrance.eventbrite.com.

For more information, contact Dr. Marcia Hardy at (318) 229-6807 or hardym@nsula.edu, Dr. Sharon Joy at joys@nsula.edu, or Dr. Weiwen Liao at liaow@nsula.edu.