Math Prof Myers named MAA Outstanding Teacher; Covington will serve as section chair


NATCHITOCHES – Dr. Leigh Ann Myers, professor of mathematics at Northwestern State University, was awarded the Outstanding Teacher Award at the 98th meeting of the Louisiana/Mississippi section of the Mathematical Association of America. Myers also currently serves the organization as program chair will coordinate next year’s section meeting, tentatively scheduled to take place on the NSU campus.

In addition, Math Professor Dr. Judith Covington was elected section chair. As section chair Covington will serve the organization for three years, presiding at each section meeting, serving on the executive committee of the section and as an ex-officio member of each committee. The section chair is responsible for planning and executing the annual section meeting.

Myers has been teaching at NSU for 28 years. In that time, she has been an integral member of the mathematics department, as well as the university and community in general. She teaches a variety of courses and serves as the course coordinator for the finite math course. In this role she works to determine the course content, creates the departmental final and oversees data collection for the course. She regularly teaches the calculus sequence and linear algebra and also teaches a financial math course that she developed to help prepare students for actuarial exams. To develop the course, she took a sabbatical and worked for an actuarial firm to better prepare students for what might be expected of them.

Myers played a key role in developing the senior research experience for NSU math students, working with colleagues to develop a two-semester sequence that prepares students to conduct research and make professional presentations. She has also for many years run study sessions to help students pursuing degrees in elementary and secondary education prepare for the Praxis exams.  Myers has run or assisted with workshops for in-service teachers at the college level and the K-12 level and worked with many LaSIP workshops that helped to develop the mathematics understanding of K-12 teachers.

Myers is an active member of MAA at the national and local levels as well as the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics. She was a project NExT fellow in 1995. In the Louisiana Mississippi Section of the MAA she is currently serving as the Program Chair Elect and will be planning the 2022 meeting. Previously she served as consultant for both the national Project NExT and as Section Project NExT. She also served two terms as section Secretary/Treasurer.

At NSU, Myers was instrumental in spearheading a campaign to establish a professorship in memory of the late Dr. Stan Chadick, NSU mathematics professor emeritus.  The professorship will help an NSU math department faculty member enhance their teaching and their research.

The Mathematical Association of America is the world’s largest community of mathematicians, students and enthusiasts that strives to further the understanding of the world through mathematics because mathematics drives society and shapes lives. The mission of the MAA is to advance the understanding of mathematics and its impact

Information on NSU’s Department of Mathematics can be found at