Northwestern chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta inducts 170 new members


The Northwestern State University Chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta welcomed 170 new members at the annual induction ceremony held recently at the A.A. Fredericks Auditorium. Professor of Computer Information Systems Dr. Begoña Perez-Mira was keynote speaker and honorary faculty inductee. Northwestern State President Dr. Chris Maggio and Vice President for the Student Experience and Dean of Students Frances Conine assisted with the presentation.

Alpha Lambda Delta recognizes the best and brightest members of the nation’s first-year college students.  Students in Alpha Lambda Delta must have a grade point average of at least 3.5 after their first semester of full-time enrollment at Northwestern State.

Motel 6

Alpha Lambda Delta first-year honor society was founded in 1924 at the University of Illinois and has over 280 chapters in the United States. The local chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta was established at Northwestern State University on March 10, 1965.  The mission of the Society is to encourage superior academic achievement; to promote intelligent living and a high standard of learning and to assist students in recognizing and developing meaningful goals in society.

Officers for 2020-21 are Nicholas Cooksey of Bossier City, president, Jenna Pottmeyer of DeRidder, vice president, Emily Farmer of Ida, secretary, Jacob Boyter of Haughton, treasurer, Addison Duet of Cut Off, scholarship chair, Allyson Roberts of Campti, service chair, Sha’Rron Brown of Keithville, faculty liaison, Malaya White of Opelousas, social media chair, Sarah Moore of Many, editor, Naje Turner of Barksdale Air Force Base, historian, Leah Thompson of DeRidder, wellness chair, and Zoe Nelson of New Orleans, public relations chair. The officers were inducted by Chapter Advisor and Director of Student Affairs Reatha Cox.

New members listed by hometown are as follows:

Abbeville – Mallory Hargrave;

Alexandria – Abbie Butler, Avery Downs, Hannah Kramel, Chance Queen;

Anacoco – Kellen Haymon;

Ball – Emalei Hodges;

Barksdale Air Force Base – Naje Turner;

Basile – Lauren Oyster;

Baton Rouge – Ebenezer Aggrey, Donnah Clark, Jalivia Johnson, Gabrielle Marcello, Ashley Stevens;

Belmont – Ian Gentry;

Benton – Micah Ballard, Jimmy McDonald;

Bossier City – Elizabeth Armstrong, Nicholas Cooksey, Ashanti Gavin, Colby Grayson, Mark Green, Caleb Helms, elms,

Payton Hudson, Gabriella Lawrence, Mia Lucas, Yamila Gabrielle Nardo, Richard Salzer, Sydney Salzer, Anwaar Shihadeh;

Boyce – Abagail Jennings, Chelsea Ryder;

Bunkie – Brooke Stevens;

Campti – Allyson Roberts;

Clifton – Chancy Daigle;

Columbia – Abbie McCann;

Coushatta – Claire Endris, Heidi Murray;

Covington – Michaela Kleyle;

Cut Off – Addison Duet;

Delhi – Ellanor Carlson;

DeRidder – Jenna Pottmeyer, Leah Thompson;

Donaldsonville – Lerae Thibodeaux;

Dry Prong – Emily Tisher;

Dubberly – Jayde Burks;

Duson – Emilie Comeaux;

Elkhart, Texas – Dillan Broyles;

Florien – Mckenzie Welch;

Fort Worth, Texas – Kaleb Keene;

Garland, Texas – Carley Johnson;

Haughton – Elizabeth Atnip, Jacob Boyter, Bailey Diller, Pamela Patton, Abigail Pruett;

Hornbeck – Cody Jarrell, Peighton Rhodes;

Houma – Madison Anderson, Kirstin Robin, Ariel Theriot;

Ida – Emily Farmer;

Jena – Alexxis Jones;

Jennings – Elizabeth Guillory, Loren Higginbotham, Donald Lejeune;

Keithville – Sha’Rron Brown;

Keller, Texas – Brandon Richter;

Kenner – Kirsten Knobloch;

Lafayette – Carly O’Quain;

Lake Charles – Kennedy Fontenot, Andrea Mouton, Brittany Nunez, Anna Claire Rowse, Karrigan Rowse;

Lecompte – Grace Baker;

Madisonville – Barrett Hodgson;

Many – Sarah Moore;

Marksville – Macie Bernard, Deanna Carmouche;

Marshall, Texas – Samuel Bailey, Kelsie Campbell;

Maud, Texas – Makenzie Morton;

Melville – Tafari Dixon;

Minden – Lauryn Gaddy, Madison Smith;

Monroe – Makiya Jackson, Shrondrick Schiele;

Mooringsport – Megan Robertson;

Natchitoches – Naomi Adams, Gracie Borders, Gabrielle Edwards, Blake Fowler, Randi Galyean, Luke Jordan, Stevie Lane, Chloe Longlois, Montel Mercier, Maci Messenger, Kelsie Moore, Bradford Morrison, Triniti Sarpy, Mary Scruggs, Dantayzha Sherman, Hayleigh Todd;

New Orleans – Naysia Jones, Zoe Nelson;

Oak Grove – Baily Barnett;

Olla – Taylor Veillion;

Opelousas – Morgan Andrus, Hannah Richardson, Malaya White, Bailey Willis;

Oscar – Mariah Kador;

Patterson – Zoe Johnson;

Pineville – Abdel-Jabbar Rashiqa, Destinee Bradley, Parker Lee, Vianna Patterson, Mallory Speir, Kevin Thomas;

Pollock – Paige Hedrick, Ashley Lacombe, Megan Sloan;

Prairieville – Emma Cockrum, Karli Morrison;

Rayville – Raheim Burns;

Robeline – Kilee Pickett;

Ruston – Chirstan Bates;

St. Martinville – Lizzie Blanchard, Atouria Mitchell;

Shreveport – Elyssa Harris, Schuyler Mason, Eden Millican, Chandler Milligan, Ragan Rounds;

Sibley – Melanie Tobin;

Slidell – Matthew Spencer;

Spring, Texas – McKenna Emmott;

Stonewall – Jack Stanley;

Sugarland, Texas – Justin Dysarz;

Thibodaux – Kate Olin;

Ville Platte – Lindsey Meylian;

Vivian – Anna Jackson;

Walker – Abigail Whitam;

Waxahachie, Texas – McKenzie Ryer;

West Monroe – Kaitlyn Cloud, Adreanna Thrift;

Winnfield – Grayce McDavid, Jordan Patterson, Taylor Womack;

Youngsville – Hunter Hopkin;

Zwolle – Cheyenne Calhoun, Matthew Lovelady.