HMT students earn scholarships for Spring, Summer, Fall 2021

Several students from NSU’s hospitality management and tourism program earned scholarships for the spring, summer and fall semesters. On the front row from left are Rayne Skelton, Andrew Pitari and Cameron Cherry. On the middle row are Cree Roark, Julie Nelson, Meredith Phelps and Morgan Slaughter. On the back row are Chef John Carriere, professor; Landon Amberg, professor; Valerie Salter, professor, and Kierra Linden.

NATCHITOCHES – Northwestern State University’s Hospitality Management and Tourism program announced several student scholarship recipients for the Spring, Summer and Fall 2021 semesters.

Rayne Skelton of Many and Travon Jones of Cullen were selected for Columns Café Scholarships for the Spring 2021 semester.  The $500 awards are funded by proceeds from Columns Café and Bistro to Go, which provide experiential learning and supplementary culinary funds for equipment and activities.

Julie Nelson of Boyce was awarded the $1,000 Mary Leigh Gallaspy Scholarship funds for Spring 2021 and the $500 Dixie Nell Gallaspy Scholarship for Fall 2021, dedicated to HMT majors only. Two other students, Katie Briggs of Keithville and Lilly Roach of Bryan, Arkansas, were awarded Dixie Nell Gallaspy Scholarships in the amount of $500 each for Spring 2021.

Mary Leigh Gallaspy funds were awarded in the amount of $1,000 each to students who plan to take classes during the Summer 2021 semester.  They are Skelton, Justin Mundy of Pineville, Andrew Pitari of Metairie, Meredith Phelps of Natchitoches, Kierra Linden of Morse, Cameron Cherry of Ball, Morgan Slaughter of Natchez and Cree Roark of Olla. Cherry will also receive the Marlene McKinney Allen Scholarship ($200) for Spring 2021.

For 2021, Linden and Peyton Spurgeon of Pineville received funding from Louisiana Restaurant Association Educational Foundation. This is the second time Spurgeon has been awarded a scholarship from LRAEF.

Three students have been nominated to receive dedicated funds from the American Hotel and Lodging Association. They are Faith Burke of New Orleans, earning $2,000 for two semesters, Pitari, earning $1,500 for fall only as he will graduate in December, and Linden, receiving $2,000 for two semesters.  Linden and Pitari also received $2,000 for the current academic year.

Peyton Spurgeon of Pineville, Kierra Linden of Morse and Andrew Pitari of Metairie were awarded scholarships from the Louisiana Restaurant Association Education Foundation for the Fall 2021 semester.  Linden and Faith Burke of New Orleans will receive funding from the American Hotel and Lodging Education Foundation for the next academic year.

Spurgeon, Linden and Angela Wilson of Hahnville were also named LRAEF Scholars, an award presented in partnership with Raising Cane’s Chicken Fingers for students who intend to pursue a career in the restaurant, foodservice, tourism or hospitality industry.