Lakeview High School announces 2021 band accomplishments

From left are Band Director Denis Roper, Beginning Band members Emy Sorto-Cortez, Natalie Green, Kadie Hartly, Kayleigh Sparks, Max Sorto-Cortez and Doc Maloch.

The Lakeview Jr./Sr. High School Band celebrated their achievements at an awards banquet May 11 at 11 a.m. in the school’s multipurpose room. Sherry Helm’s culinary arts students provided a delicious meal for the celebration.

Lakeview band students who participated in the 2021 LMEA District II Large Ensemble Performance Assessment were honored with certificates of participation. This school year, due to Covid-19 restrictions, most school concert bands submitted audio recordings for adjudication instead of live performances. Lakeview received Division I ratings from all three judges and will be receiving a Superior plaque for their virtual performance. This is the sixth time Lakeview has earned a Superior plaque or trophy in the last seven years. In 2020, the band was not able to perform for adjudication because the LMEA District II Large Ensemble Performance Assessment was cancelled due to the pandemic.

All Lakeview band students who participated in the 2021 LMEA District II Solo and Ensemble Festival received Superior and Excellent certificates for their virtual performances. Students who earned Excellent ratings on solo performances were Emy Sorto-Cortez (snare drum) and Alexia Moore (xylophone). Students who earned Superior ratings on solo performances were Alayla Bradford (clarinet), Tralyn Lofton (trombone), Adrian Davis (alto saxophone), Stephan Prudhomme (trombone), and Ryan Hubbard (snare drum). Students who earned Superior Ratings on small ensemble performances were Alayla Bradford (clarinet), Tamia Lloyd (clarinet) and Tralyn Lofton (trombone) for two trio performances. A Superior rating was also given to the Lakeview Beginner Band Percussion Ensemble for their virtual performance. The members of the percussion ensemble are Natalie Green, Kayliegh Sparks, Emy Sorto-Cortez, Max Sorto-Cortez, Doc Maloch, and Kadie Hartley.

The Most Improved beginning band members acknowledged with awards were Kayliegh Sparks and Emy Sorto-Cortez. The Most Improved High School Band Member Award was presented to euphonium player Jaron Petite. The Most Outstanding Beginner Band Members were Alayla Bradford, Tamia Lloyd, and Tralyn Lofton. The Most Outstanding New High School Band Member award was given to trumpet player Trinity Hayes. Finally, percussionist Amber Hembree and trumpet player Jo Porter were given Senior Award plaques for six years of service to the band. Lakeview’s band director, Denise Roper, was also recently honored with a nomination for the Louisiana Music Educators Association Hall of Fame. Roper has also received numerous honors for performances in virtual flute competitions, including first place in the 2020 Louisiana Flute Society Adult Masterclass competition, second place the Floot Fire virtual soloist competition (2020 and 2021), third Place in the 2020 Arizona Flute Society Virtual Soloist

competition, second place in the 2021 Houston Flute Club Denise Jennings solo competition, second place in the 2021 Utah Flute Association Virtual Sonata Competition, and a 2021 Honor Performer certificate from the Texas Flute Society.