Excellence in Education: Students, Teacher, Principal of the Year, Elite Scholars honored at ceremony

From left are Natchitoches Parish Principal of the Year Jennifer Martin and Natchitoches Parish Teachers of the Year Liz Miller, Erin Davis, Tiffany Smith and Rebecca Theriot.

Photos by Hannah Richardson

The A+ Coalition and the Natchitoches Area Chamber of Commerce hosted an Excellence in Education ceremony Tuesday, May 18 at Magale Recital Hall. There, Elite Scholars for this school year were recognized and given awards. These NCHS, Lakeview, St. Mary’s and LSMSA students are the top performing graduating seniors from Natchitoches. Also given recognition were the Students of the Year, Teachers of the Year and Principal of the Year. Before the awards were given, the NCHS Orchestra performed and Dr. Leslie Blanchard, Executive Director of the Leadership Development Institute at Louisiana State University, gave an inspiring speech for the students and their parents and teachers.

On front row from left are Elite Scholars Andrea Chen, Cameron McAlister, Brianna Laird, Raamses Coutee, Aziza Coutee, London Wright, Delores O’Bannon, Madeline Harper, Jensen Parker, Gloria Church and Chance Nelson. On back row are James Manausa, Maggie Gilmore, Felicity Faust, Tionne Sykes, Josie Fontenot, Haley Thomas, Lauren Tibbett, Lily Zachary, Carleigh Lofton and Jo Porter.

The elementary students of the year are Natchitoches Magnet, Jasmyn Carpenter of Natchitoches Magnet School, and Fisher York of St. Mary’s. T

he junior high students of the year are Isaac Young of Natchitoches Magnet, and Georgia Kate Philen of St. Mary’s.

The high school students of the year are Aziza Coutee of NCHS and Ben Smiley of St. Mary’s. The Elementary Teacher of the Year is Tiffany Smith of Goldonna Elementary School.

This article published in the Thursday, May 22-23, 2021, print edition

The Junior High Teacher of the Year is Rebecca Theriot of East Natchitoches.

The High School Teacher of the Year is Erin Davis of Lakeview High School.

Representing St. Mary’s Catholic School is Teacher of the Year Liz Miller.

The Natchitoches Parish Students of the Year are, from left, Aziza Coutee, Isaac Young, Jasmyn Carpenter, Georgia Kate Philen and Ben Smiley. At far right is Anna Waxley with the Chamber of Commerce.

The Natchitoches Parish Public Schools Principal of the Year is Jennifer Martin of Provencal School. The Elite Scholars, the top performing graduating seniors of Natchitoches parish, were invited to participate in an essay contest. The first place essay winner from Saint Mary’s, Jensen Parker, was awarded a $500 scholarship.

Jensen Parker received an Elite Scholars Essay Scholarship Award. From left are Drake Owens, Executive Director of the Northwestern State University Alumni Association, Parker and Laura Lyles, President of the Natchitoches Parish Chamber of Commerce.

The second and third place winners, both from the Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts, Gloria Church and Andrea Chen, both were awarded $250 scholarship. The Northwestern State University Foundation matches these scholarships for any of the award winners who will be attending NSU.

Gloria Church received an Elite Scholars Essay Scholarship Award.

The following students were named Elite Scholars from their respective schools: Natchitoches Central High School- Raamses Coutee Aziza Coutee Silas Alexander Dollar Felicity Faust Josie Fontenot Linsey Hargis Madeline Harper Brianna Laird James Manausa Cameron McAlister Chance Nelson Delores O’Bannon Maison Pierce Tionne Sykes Lauren Tibbett London Wright Lily Zachary Haley Thomas

Andrea Chen received an Elite Scholars Essay Scholarship Award.

Lakeview High School- Andrea Chen Carleigh Lofton

St. Mary’s- Maggie Gilmore Jensen Parker