Local sorority chapter awards scholarships


Rho Beta Omega Chapter recently hosted its annual Scholarship Recognition Program. The scholarship recipients and their parent attended the program virtually. Ashley Guye presided over the program as mistress of ceremony. Other highlights of the program included greetings by Helen Calhoun, scripture and prayer by Morgan Dallas and Fannie Holden and the occasion by Shondrika Robertson. Tanner Holden, a student from the gifted and talented program, rendered a musical selection. The seven scholarship recipients were introduced by Madeline Valrie. The guest speaker, Mayor Ronnie Williams, was introduced by his wife Tiffany Williams.

Recipients of this year’s scholarships are:

Andrea Coats is the daughter of Belinda Coats. She is a graduate of Natchitoches Central High School and will attend LSU.

Chelsea Hullaby is the daughter of Jacquelyn Hullaby. She graduated from Ringgold High School and will attend Grambling State University.

Nalayja Johnson is the daughter of Alicia Houston. She graduated from Natchitoches Central High School and will attend the University of LA at Lafayette.

Charia Ratliff is the daughter of Kenesha Coats and Chadwick Ratliff. Ratliff graduated from Natchitoches Central High School. She will attend Southern University.

Kamryn Shelton is the daughter of Kamnese and Alvin Shelton. She is a graduate of Natchitoches Central High School. She will attend Northwestern State University.

Markell Washington is the son of Martin and Angela Washington. He is attending Southern University.

Jaslin Willis is the daughter of Lakesha Willis. She graduated from Natchitoches Central High School. She will be attending Louisiana State University.

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. is the oldest Greek-letter organization established college-education African-American women. Since founding in 1908, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority has devoted exemplary measures toward scholarship and service to all mankind. In effect to support the organization’s mission of “Exemplifying Excellence Through Sustainable Service,” Rho Beta Omega Chapter continues to assist students in their continued personal development and commitment to continuing their education by awarding scholarships to students in the Natchitoches and surrounding areas. Lorraine Holmes serves as President of the local chapter and Madeline Valrie serves as chairperson of the Scholarship Committee.