Locals elected directors of La. Travel Association

Rebecca Blankenbaker and Jay Sharplin

Jay Sharplin, President of Sharpco Hotels Group, and Rebecca Blankenbaker, Executive Director of Cane River National Heritage Area, were installed as Directors of the Louisiana Travel Association (LTA) Board of Directors at its annual meeting in Alexandria.
“It’s an honor to continue to serve on LTA’s board of directors representing Louisiana’s public lands and attractions,” commented Blankenbaker. “The Louisiana Travel Association serves as the voice of Louisiana’s travel industry, advocating for travel businesses of all sizes across every sector of the industry, ensuring that travel remains an important part of conversations concerning the most pressing issues of our state and nation.”
“2021 was quite the comeback for tourism in our region and the state. I look forward to assisting the LTA board in continuing this momentum this year,” said Sharplin.
“Our executive committee and board of directors are responsible for helping us meet the needs of our members and making sure we accomplish our goals of providing educational and marketing opportunities while also advocating on the industry’s behalf,” said Jill Kidder, LTA president and CEO. “We are excited to be starting off another year with a great group of industry leaders that represent the entire state.”

This article published in the Feb. 17, 2022, print edition

Officers on the executive committee and members of the board of directors are elected during the annual meeting. Each year, the chairman of the board selects a nominating committee that is comprised of members who are not up for re-election and who are not seeking office. This committee is responsible for presenting a slate to the members of the association that recognizes all regions of the state and all segments of the tourism industry.