Cane River Chapter of National Society Daughters of the American Revolution attend state convention

Seated from left are Peggy Aycock, Carolyn DunnMiller and Minnie Metoyer. Standing are Martha Conde, Nicol Delphin and Jamie Chilson of Cane River Chapter, Angela Eichenbrenner of Fauquier Chapter, Va., and Paula Eichenbrenner, Elenor Wilson Chapter, Washington, D.C.

Members of the Cane River Chapter of the NSDAR attended the 113th Louisiana Society Daughters of the American Revolution (LSDAR) annual convention March 17-20 at the historic Hotel Bentley in Alexandria,
LSDAR State Regent Charlotte Hodge White presided over the event with more than 200 LSDAR members in attendance.
Honored guests included Denise Doring Van Buren, NSDAR President General; Janet Whittington, Curator General; Kay Yarbrough, Vice President General; Morgan Elliot, Arizona State Regent; Debbie Coe, Illinois State Regent; Marla Suter, Iowa State Regent; Helen Polk, Mississippi State Regent; Joann Magee, Missouri State Regent; Kathryn Asay, Utah State Regent; Yvonne Liser, Membership National Chair and NSDAR Museum Curator, Angela Eichenbrenner.
The conference began Friday with a Memorial Service commemorating the past year’s deceased members. Denise Doring Van Buren gave Friday’s keynote address. Friday’s highlights included presentation of the LSDAR Outstanding Teacher of American History Award to Shelby Thompson and the Outstanding Veteran Volunteer Award to John B. Wells. The Blanche Marxsen LSDAR Leadership Scholarship was awarded to Haley Victoria Flynn.

This article published in the March 26, 2022, print edition

State Officer’s, District Director’s, Chapter Regents and State Committee Chairs gave annual reports on Saturday. The business session concluded with presentation of newly elected 2022 – 2025 LSDAR Executive Officer’s: Cheryl Gott, Office of State Regent; Toni Turk, Office of First Vice Regent; Louise Ganucheau, Office of Second Vice Regent; Brenda Lowry, Office of State Chaplain; Melissa Wiygul, Office of State Recording Secretary; Margo Rhinehart, Office of State Corresponding Secretary; Helen Newman, Office of State Organizing Secretary; Myra Tener, Office of State Treasurer; Regina Wood, Office of State Registrar; Charlotte Nagy, Office of State Historian; Janis Lowe, Office of State Librarian and Bobbi Foster, Office of State Curator. The Daughters enjoyed a presentation by Robert Freeland, “Louisiana’s Islenos: The Legacy of Bernardo de Galvez”, on Saturday evening.
The Daughters enjoyed a farewell breakfast Sunday before departing home. Any woman 18 years or older interested in learning about her lineage and joining the DAR should contact Peggy Aycock Chapter Regent at