Northwestern State Trumpet Studio Ensemble and Euphonium-Tuba Ensemble to hold concert on Monday


The Northwestern State Trumpet Studio Ensemble and Euphonium-Tuba Ensemble will hold a joint concert on Monday, April 4 at 7:30 p.m. in Magale Recital Hall. Admission is free and open to the public. Those attending are asked to wear a mask, but they are not required. A livestream will be available at

Associate Professor of Euphonium/Tuba/Sound Tech Dr. Masahito Kuroda is director of the Euphonium-Tuba Ensemble and Jake English is graduate assistant. Associate Professor of Trumpet Galindo Rodriguez is director of the Trumpet Ensemble.

Motel 6

The NSU Euphonium-Tuba Ensemble is celebrating its 20th anniversary this semester. For this special occasion, the euphonium-tuba portion of the concert will open with a world premiere performance of Kuroda’s new arrangement of a fanfare for a very unique combination of lesser utilized low brass instruments. In the last 20 years, NSU Euphonium-Tuba Ensemble and Kuroda have been expanding the possibilities of tonal colors and texture of this type of ensemble using variety of tuba family instruments and electronics that are not normally used.

“In this special piece, the audience will be able to listen to a completely new kind of sound that are not normally associated with tuba ensemble,” said Kuroda.

The work is Kuroda’s arrangement of “Fanfare from Capriccio Italien, Op,. 45 for Alto Horn, Bass Trumpets, Marching Baritones, Bell-front Baritones, Double-bell Euphonium, Alto/Tenor Valve Trombones, Cimbassi, Tubas with Mutes, and Sousaphones” composed by Tchaikovsky. The Euphonium-Tuba Ensemble will also play “Galliard Battaglia” by Samuel Scheidt and arranged by Friedrich and “Pirates of Caribbean Medley for Tuba-Euphonium Ensemble” by Zimmer and Sutherland:

Members of the NSU Euphonium-Tuba Ensemble Personnel are euphoniums  Remi Blanchard, Cyrus Blount, Rafael Meiger, Caceres, Jordan Elliot, Manuel Riego Fernandez, Brian Geraghty, Austin Head, Emily Murphy, Jose Del Rio, Dalton Wade and faculty member Dr. John T. Dunn.

Playing tuba are Andrew Blackmon, Kurt Brennan, Richard Brumbelow, Taylor Carrell, Tyler Fields, Barrett Hodgson, Ivan Longoria, Ethan Maynard, Patrick Murr, Koral Richard, Caleb Santora and Matthew Spencer.

The Trumpet Studio Ensemble will play “Festive Overture” by Dmitri Shostakovich and arranged by Caleb Hudson  with Ivan Lorduy Camargo on piccolo and “Chase “N” Lizards “ by Vern Sielert with a solo by Juan Angulo Arrieta.

Members of the NSU Trumpet Studio Ensemble are Konnor Thibodeaux, Griffin Howe, Ivan Lorduy Camargo, Blake Taggert, Arrietta, Jack Stanley, Josh Monaghan, Sadoc Silva Calderon, George McKinnerney and Dillon Humphries.