Sheriff’s scholarships awarded


Sheriff Stuart Wright announced Elizabeth Poydras was named the recipient of an academic scholarship from the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Scholarship Program.
She resides in Clarence and plans to attend LSU and pursue Criminal Justice. Her parents are Cne’ Orville Poydras and the late Joseph Poydras.
The Sheriffs’ Scholarship is made possible by the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Honorary Membership Program (LSHMP). Louisiana Sheriffs provide scholarships to graduating high school students from each parish where the Sheriff is an affiliate of the program.

This article published in the May 21, 2022, print edition

The only limitations are that applicants be permanent residents of Louisiana; scholarships be utilized in higher education within the state; and students must be enrolled as full-time, undergraduate students. Scholarships are awarded in 64 parishes.
Anastasia Nelson
Emma Broadway

“Emma Broadway and Anastasia Nelson were named as alternates and will receive an academic scholarship from the Natchitoches Parish Sheriff’s Office,” Wright said. “Academic awards by the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Scholarship Program to Louisiana students demonstrate what the LSHMP is all about. This is one of our finest accomplishments. It invests in Louisiana’s future and gives something back to our community. This would not be possible without the kind and generous support of Natchitoches Parish’s Honorary Members.”