Heisman Trophy Exhibit opening


A new, permanent Heisman Trophy exhibit made its official debut Wednesday evening in Natchitoches at the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame and Northwest Louisiana History Museum.

The exhibit showcases unique items documenting the football careers of Louisiana’s four Heisman Trophy winners:  LSU’s Joe Burrow (2019) and Billy Cannon (1959), Springhill native John David Crow (1957) and Amite product DeVonta Smith (2020). 

Cannon’s Heisman, the only one cast in silver since it was presented in the 25th anniversary year of the trophy, will be on display through Jan. 4, and again each summer for several weeks around the annual LSHOF Induction Celebration, with the 2023 edition slated for next July 27-29.

The Heisman has been presented annually since 1935 to the top college football player in the country, by the Heisman Trust, located in New York City. The 2022 presentation is Saturday at 7 p.m. on ESPN.

 The new exhibit is located on the second floor of the 27,000-square foot museum at 800 Front Street, across from the traffic circle. For more information, call the museum at 318-357-2492. For information about the LSHOF including a virtual visit to the museum, visit LaSportsHall .com online.